Take in several community events this weekend

Enjoying the last warm days before cooler fall weather arrives will be pretty easy this weekend! Area residents have several events to choose from in order to keep themselves entertained.

Friday, September 12, you are invited to attend Stevens County Farm Bureau Association’s open house from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at 613 S. Main in Hugoton. Everyone is invited for delicious refreshments and giveaways! Rolla High School will also have their football homecoming game, starting at 7:00 p.m. with the coronation.

If you’re looking for more of an “artsy” outing, Stevens County Activity Center will be the location for the Quilt, Art and Photography Show September 12, 13 and 14. See local artists display their best works at 624 S. Main in Hugoton Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Saturday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Sunday from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. If you would like to exhibit, bring your items to the Activity Center Thursday, September 11. To find out more, call Director Shila Moore at 620-544-2283.

The Senior Center is the place to be Saturday starting with Sew All Day, then cards and games at 6:00 p.m., and wrapping up the evening with a dance! Craig Stevens will play from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m. Everyone is invited—bring a friend and a snack to share! Jeri Davey’s centennial birthday celebration will be at the Moscow Senior Center from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Saturday, September 13.

Sunday, September 14, Hugoton’s First Church of God will host the first in a series of Bible studies about the movie “God’s Not Dead” with a showing of the movie at 6:00 p.m. Everyone is invited.

The Stevens County Board of County Commissioners met in regular session Tuesday, September 2 2014 with all members, Pat Hall, James Bell and Dave Bozone present. Also present were County Clerk Pam Bensel, County Counselor Robert Johnson and RoGlenda Coulter from The Hugoton Hermes. The following is just an agenda for the morning with a few of the unofficial highlights. Official minutes will be published at a later date.
The commissioners’ agenda included 8:30 – bills; 9:00 – Jack Rowden and Gary Gold; 9:30 – Tony Martin/Kirk Spikes; 10:00 – Brandon Kolb; 10:30 – Stachia Nordyke; 11:00 – Paula Rowden; 11:30 – Hospital Board; and 12:00 – lunch.
When this reporter arrived around 8:50 the commissioners were discussing refinancing with Jack Rowden and Gary Gold. They presented a shared plan with the commissioners and discussed the details. Bob expressed the board’s appreciation for their modifications. The commissioners will look, compare their alternatives, then get back with them.
Tony Martin came in with his report from Road and Bridge. He told Bob the sprinkler letters Bob sent out seem to be helping some. He told the commissioners how many tons of asphalt they had produced and the costs. He also reported the new phone system had been installed. The shop has been doing repair work to the mowers.
Kirk Spikes came in to talk about opening a section line road to gain access to a field where Abengoa is storing bales. Bob said this would be a matter of getting easements from the landowners. He will draw some up and Kirk will talk to the landowners. It was agreed that only a half mile road will be needed as it will only lead to more sand if any further.
Sheriff Ted Heaton came in with officers TJ Steers and Duane Topliss. They reported all is well in their department.
After some discussion about the recycling bins located on Main Street it was decided and motion was made to have the bins removed. They constantly have broken glass all around them with all kinds of other trash. The county shares the cost of these bins with the city and the city employees are always having to clean up the mess. Pat said Tom Hicks had expressed their desire to have them removed.
Brandon Kolb was next on the agenda. He came in asking for a section line road to be opened and maintained better so he can get in and out with his grain trucks. Bob said he will talk to the landowner about it. If this is not agreeable, a notice can be put in the paper and the road maintained since it is on a section line.

Read More →

Chamber members updated about events

 Hugoton Area Chamber of Commerce enjoyed their monthly luncheon meeting Tuesday, August 19, 2014, at the Stevens County Library meeting room.  The members dined on a delicious buffet furnished by China of Hugoton.
    Curtis Crawford began the meeting with a Marketing Update. He informed the members of the importance of creating an account with Google so customers can find their business without going to the Yellow Pages.     
    Director Ruth Van Horn reported the Teachers’ Appreciation Breakfast at Pig’s R Us was a great success. She stressed  their appreciation to the Lion’s Club and the Rotary for their contribution. The Lions Club helped the Chamber board with serving the breakfast. About 55 teachers attended. The teachers were very appreciative of the great meal.
    Ruth commented about the great High Plains Music Fest performed Saturday evening. The weather really cooperated by turning cool for the concert.

Read More →

The Stevens County Board of County Commissioners met in regular session Monday, August 18 at 8:30 a.m. with all members, Pat Hall, Dave Bozone and Jim Bell present. Others present included County Counselor Robert Johnson, County Clerk Pam Bensel and Marie Austin with The Hugoton Hermes.
    Following is just an agenda for the morning with a few unoffical highlights. Official minutes will be published at a later date.
    The commissioners’ agenda included Greg Wellbrock with copier bids at 9:00 a.m., Tony Martin at 9:30 a.m. and Kirkham Michael with a proposal for the KDI road project at 10:30 a.m. Commissioners also decided voting delegates for the Kansas Association of Counties’ annual conference and exhibition.
    When this reporter arrived, the commissioners were speaking to Rodney Kelling about Emergency Services. The commissioners then discussed the recent decision to allow county employees time to work at the county fair. They agreed to include the phrase, “at the discretion of the department head” and “during the week of the Fair” in the motion’s language.

Read More →